Review of Corrigans Mayfair

With such grand surroundings – a piano in the corner and hugely impressive interior, I felt hideously under dressed. I could feel my lowly Super Dry t-shirt turning a shade of red in embarrassment and my dad’s shirt and tie with a smug smile on its face.

Service started off fairly slowly, with the waiter struggling to grasp the concept of a gin and tonic.

Bread served in a flowerpot, with some butter was amusing and a decent start to proceedings. Bread, of the seeded, granary variety was tasty, perhaps slightly denser ( the best way to describe it is patchik, a Yiddish word ) than you would expect.

 Image

After being seduced by the Maitre’d, into ordering one of the specials for starter, my Dad and I nodded approvingly at each other and didn’t look back. However, we should have given a long, intense look back, as our starter underwhelmed. Partridge ravioli, served with confit leg, with an appetising partridge foot still attached was the dish. The poor bird, bless its soul, died in vain, as the contents of the ravioli had seemingly forgotten to be seasoned. The few sultanas on the side added some sweet relief and lifted the dish to average standards, but the dish was void of any imagination and taste. Oh, how I wish I wasn’t so easily seduced by the temptations of meat and the charms of the Maitre’d!

Image

 As the waiters took our plates, it signaled my visit to the loo. Pleasing floor to ceiling toilet doors, with darkened lighting and sweet aromas surrounding me, I was left to enjoy toilet tranquility – the best sort of tranquility!

The mains arrived within the perfect time interval from the starters. I had gone for fish, after being disappointed by meat mains at similar establishments in the past. It was flame roasted mackerel, served with cucumber and brown shrimps. Not that I am a conspiracy theorist, but it seems as if Corrigan’s Mayfair had a sneaky peak at The Ledbury’s menu and ‘borrowed’ the dish. The dish at the Ledbury named ‘Flame Grilled Mackerel with Pickled Cucumber, Celtic Mustard and Shiso’….. case closed!  

Image

Despite this, the dish did the Ledbury’s high standards proud. Lovely citrus accompaniments came in the shape of Brunoised tomatoes and cucumber (basically diced – I’ll try not to show off with food terminology again), a large pickled cucumber and beautifully sweet, moist and delicious brown shrimps. They worked wonderfully well with the slightly charred mackerel. A combination as harmonious as ebony and Ivory as the great Stevie Wonder once sang – (I shall leave my opinions on Paul McCartney’s singing to myself on the other hand!).  The potential critiscm of the size of the main, was countered by generous side servings of yorkishire puddings, roast potatotes, cauliflower cheese and carrots. It was Sunday lunch after all! 

Image

For dessert, I had gone for buttermilk cream, blood orange and a lemon curd doughnut.  The thought of a Michelin starred doughnut was enough to lure me in. The first thing I saw was a large, golden doughnut, not a bite size one I was expecting -not that I’m complaining! My first spoonful was sweet, sweet bliss. The slightly sharp flavour of the blood orange, mixed with the creamy buttermilk, amalgamated into a dessert symphony (I detect a music theme going on!) The doughnut itself was crisp and crunchy on the outside and filled with a beautifully made lemon curd – I shall no longer look at a Krispy Kreme with such lust again! The blood orange came in two variants, one a set jelly like substance, the other a sorbet. The latter of which was the best component of the lot. It lifted the whole dish and was pleasingly refreshing.

 Image

The bill arrived and a severe lack of petit fours was worrying me – (* My feelings have been amplified for effect). 

There was a tray of madeleines being handed out, seemingly to select customers. As we were readying ourselves to leave, they hit us with a final dose of Michelin treats. They were a joy to behold, the best madeleine I’ve ever had – not that I’m too experience in madeleine consumption,  not even Waitrose own came close!

 Image

A Sunday lunch for £27 at an established Michelin starred restaurant, with a fair few extras shows good value for money.

 Food – 7.5/10

 Service – 7/10

 Value – 8/10

Thanks for reading. Please comment, share – you know the spiel (More Yiddish).

My next review shall be on Galvin at Windows, Mayfair, of which will be published on the 10th of March.

Leave a Reply

