Using up veg

Here’s one to use up any veg, that well, needs using up.

I had onions, celery, mushrooms and leeks to use.

I chopped them very finely and put them in a pan (leaving the mushrooms till a bit later), with some oil and a bay leaf.

I would have added some red wine, but we only had some Rose, that someone left at out flat, after a house party, a few weeks ago – I didn’t use it.

I added a little stock, tasted and seasoned.

I mix this through some rice and served with some chicken (that also needed eating). I spiced the chicken up with what I had in the cupboard (I won’t be sharing this and not because it’s a secret recipe!)

Actually pretty tasty and quite nice way to avoid waste.

Leave a Reply

