To be (Michelin) or not to be (Michelin)

I’ve written several blogs on my trips to various Michelin starred restaurants over the past few years, but why not of the restaurants that don’t boast a star? 

Boy have I enjoyed my meals at The Ledbury, Royal Hospital Road, HKK amongst others, but can I honestly say that I have eaten the best, most enjoyable, tasty food at such establishments; I’m not so sure.

And yet, I remember these meals more so than any other and still look back so fondly on them; whilst simultaneously looking at my bank account with horror! The overall experience and je ne sais quoi that restaurants with a Michelin star restaurants have is my answer (to my own question). I still remember having the toilet door opened and closed for me at Royal Hospital Road, the drama of the carving of the duck at HKK and the long conversation we had with a waiter at the Ledbury. All these things culminate into an experience that stays with you and impulses you to blog about them later! 

The thing is, I know I have eaten more wholesome, tastier food at restaurants I can’t even remember the name of. I suppose it could have something to do with mood. One day I may feel like a meal consisting of 9 courses equal to the size of a main course at a local Italian; which I may fancy another night. It could also have a lot to do with occasion. The majority of my Michelin visits have fallen on birthdays and other such celebratory times (not by coincidence by the way!); having been booked months in advance. 

Don’t get me wrong, the food at such places isn’t bad! The Ledbury and HKK definitely served to me some of the best dishes I’ve ever eaten. But, while Royal Hospital Road was a touch disappointing with its flavours, I still remember it vividly from over two years ago (those toilet attendants really made an impression!) 

What it comes down to I suppose; if money were no object and I could only dine at Michelin or non Michelin starred restaurants, I would have to go for Michelin! If someone could make this happen, then it would be much appreciated.

Please like, follow and share if you so wish. 

Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

